Michael W. Robinson

 


I was born and raised in Fort Lauderdale, Florida and attended Coconut Creek High school where I played both baseball and football. Wanting more out of life and wanting to get out of South Florida, I enlisted in the United States Navy a couple years after graduation. I was trained as an Aviation Support Technician and worked on the flight deck of the USS Saipan, a Marine Transport ship stationed in Norfolk, Virginia. It was during my time in the Navy that I met and married my beautiful wife, but also where I first was charged with instructional development and training.


Eventually we ended up in Boone, North Carolina and I began taking Lit classes at Appalachian State University. During this time, I was working full time as a Sous Chef (where I was also charged with training development and facilitation for all employees) and tutoring at the local high school. It was during these tutoring sessions where I was bit by the teaching bug. Upon graduation we moved to Wilmington, NC, where we currently reside. My first teaching position was at Eckerd Youth Alternatives as a Resource Teacher. Though not a traditional teaching position, it was one I enjoyed because of its challenging nature. I left Eckerd to teach English at Ashley High School. Unfortunately, due to budget cuts, my position was cut. In order to provide for my family, I took a position as a project manager at a local fabrication company, I also developed and implemented training programs for all departments and external sub contractors during my time there.


Upon the birth of my second son, I made the decision to take some time off so I could be with my son and my wife could return to work. I feel very fortunate that I was able to take a year off from work to spend with my son. There are moments that I will forever cherish and were invaluable to me as a person. It was also during my year off when I decided I wanted to return to the education field but in a different capacity. What I loved most about teaching was the creativity it afforded me in design and development of lessons and curriculums. This led me to the pursuit of an Master of Science in Instructional Technology from University of North Carolina at Wilmington, which I graduated from in May 2013. During my schooling I worked on a number of design and development projects for the university and local public schools and businesses. Currently I am a contractor for Lockheed Martin, attached to the U.S. Coast Guard's Special Missions Training Center at Camp Lejeune, where I design, develop, and support a variety of skills based training courses.


When I am not working or studying, I fill my time with a variety of interests. I enjoy reading, though I don't get to read as much as I like. I continue to write, but mostly short stories and philosophical rants. In the spring, I coach Little League Baseball. I am a huge sports fan and take every opportunity to watch my teams, either live or on television. Primarily, I spend time with my family, taking day trips, playing board games, and generally just enjoying time together. I have been married for 20 years to my beautiful wife Heather and we have two sons, Julian, 18 and Zander, 7. To me there is nothing more important than my family.

Me working at Ashley HS my boys and I my wife and I

working at Eckerd